My Account
Facebook Twitter
March 19, 2012
By: Scott Keyes

Division 1 Wrestling

Sports Scene breaks down state individual finals



Jeff Chaney

Sports Scene

Division 1

Class 103

1. Lincoln Olson, Davison

2. Camden Bertucci, Grand Haven

3. Kyle Gillies, Wayne-Westland John Glenn

4. Bernie Gomez, Holt

5, Justin Kim, Rochester

My Take: This weight class has a lot of talented freshmen. I think two will be in the finals in Olson and Bertucci

Pick the winner: Olson

Class 112

1. Mitch Rogaliner, Bedford

2. Shane Wireman, Holt

3. Doug Zundel, Roseville

4. Dan Martinez, Livonia Franklin

5, Myles Amine, Detroit Catholic Cenrtal

My Take: Rogaliner was a runner-up last year. I think he beats a 2011 champion, Wireman (103) in the finals this year. Zundel and Martinez could break in.

Pick the winner: Rogaliner

Class 119

1. Justin Oliver, Davison

2. Josh Wood, Rochester

3. Gabe Martinez, Livonia Franklin

4. Austin Eicher, Hartland

5. Jordan Amine, Brighton

My Take: Oliver was a state champion last year, and I think he will take that experience and use it this year. But this weight class is lined up for an upset here or there.

Pick the winner: Oliver

Class 125

1. Alex Calandrino, Howell

2. Kyle Hill, Oxford

3. T.J. Fagan, Detroit Catholic Central

4. Dominic Russ, Davison

5. Mitch Hyrniak, Forest Hills Central

My Take: Calandrino just missed out being a state champion last year. Runners-up usually come back with something to prove, and that is exactly what I think he will do this year.

Pick the winner: Calandrino

Class 130

1. Ken Bade, Detroit Catholic Central

2. Dominic Trevino, Holt

3. Mike Willits, Oxford

4. Tyler VanRooyen, Rockford

5. Matt Miller, Davison

My Take: Bade has looked strong all year. It looks like he will be adding another state championship medal to his trophy case.

Pick the winner: Bade

Class 135

1. Kaelen Richards, Rochester

2. Alec Pantaeleo, Canton

3. Malik Amine, Detroit Catholic Central

4. Evan Hoshaw, Brighton

5. Allen Torres, Grand Haven

My Take: Richards took third last year at 125 pounds. He moves up two weight classes this year and wins a state title. But don't count out Pantaeleo and Amine.

Pick the winner: Richards

Class 140

1. Angelo Latora, Portage Central

2. Dean Vettese, Rochester

3. Kirk Wawrzyniak, Roseville

4. Rocco Borg, Oxford

5. Said Youseff, Plymouth

My Take: Last year Latora saw his dream of a state championship dashed because of a controversial call. He still finished as an all-stater, but things like that stick with a wrestler. A year is a long time to think about it, so watch Latora take it out on the competition

Pick the winner: Latora

Class 145

1. Logan Marcicki, Detroit Catholic Central

2. Jake Weissend, Carmen Ainsworth

3. Jake Baker, Lakeview

4. Dominic Latora, Portage Central

5. Eddie Nuttall, Lincoln

My Take: I like Marcicki; he has wrestled well all year and is a returning state champion. But Weissend lost to a Shamrock last year in the finals (second to Alec Mooradian), so maybe this is the year he breaks through against a Detroit Catholic Central wrestler in the finals.

Pick the winner: Marcicki

Class 152

1. Alec Mooradian, Detroit Catholic Central

2. Dakota Juarez, Grand Haven

3. Austin Scogg, Rockford

4. Aaron Calderon, Brighton

5. Travis Mann, Wayne-Westland John Glenn

My Take: Mooradian is going for his fourth state title,and it's hard to bet against that. After a strong showing at districts, it looks like he is peaking to bring it home.

Pick the winner: Mooradian

Class 160

1. Jordan Cooks, Davison

2. Shon Powell, Brother Rice

3. Chris O'Guinn, Grand Blanc

4. Nick Mason, Detroit Catholic Central

5. Austin Geerlings, East Kentwood

My Take: This is Cooks' weight class to lose. I don't see that happening.

Pick the winner: Cooks

Class 171

1. Drew Garcia, Detroit Catholic Central

2. Connor Moynihan, Grand Haven

3. Charlie Myers, Utica Eisenhower

4. Cody Devoe, Rochester

5. Justin Charneski, Hartland

My Take: Garcia is the favorite, but this could be a wide open weight class, with several likely decisions go the other way. I'll stick with the favorite.

Pick the winner: Garcia

Class 189

1. Kevin Beazley, Detroit Catholic Central

2. Devon Bronson, Southgate Anderson

3. Kevin Miller, North Farmington

4. Brandon Sunday, Bedford

5. Ethan Frick, Clarkston

My Take: A runner-up at 171 pounds in 2011, a champion at 189 in 2011. Beazley should cruise through this weight class.

Pick the winner: Beazley

Class 215

1. Prescott Line, Oxford

2. Bryan Smith, Bedford

3. Serge Andreou, Rochester Stoney Creek

4. Dimitrus Renfroe, Wayne Memorial

5. Ben Dominguez, Southgate Anderson

My Take: This weight class should come down to a Line and Smith final. Line wins his second straight title.

Pick the winner: Line

Class 285

1. Logan Rimmer, Bedford

2. Nick Gajdzik, Rochester Hills Stoney Creek

3. Jeff Tautolo, L'Anse Creuse

4. Kyle Knapp, Portage Central

5. Miguel Correa, West Ottawa

My Take: Rimmer and Gajdzik were both runners-up last year, Rimmer at 285 and Gajdzik at 215. This is a tough call, but I will take the heavyweight runner-up in 2011 to win this year

Pick the winner: Rimmer