My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube
March 01, 2013
By: Randy Miniard

Undefeated heading to state

Victories, pinns, techs..,The thrill of state championship week



There are 24 wrestlers who could become repeat state wrestling champions in 2013. 
Having this opportunity is rare and I praise each and every one of you for your dedication and time that you put in to the sport of wrestling! The quality of wrestlers is at an all-time high in Michigan, at the state and National levels, and it is because of returning champs like you that we are getting there.
Seven of you are from D1 schools. Davison has three of the seven returning state champions - Lincoln Olsen, Justin Oliver, and Jordan Cooks, while Detroit Catholic Central has two - Ken Bade and Drew Garcia. Bedford's Mitch Rogaliner and Brighton's Aaron Coldiron round out our D1 champs.
St Johns has three possible returning champs with Zach Hall, Jacob Scmitt, and Ben Whitford. Holly's Anthony Gonzales, Allegan's Taylor Simaz, Fowlerville's Adam Coon round out the D2 wrestling candidates.
Division 3 has five possible repeat champion wrestlers, with Dakota Ball from Ida, Zach Cooper from Whitehall, Devin Skatzka from Richmond, Steven Malloy from Morley Stanwood and Gage Hutchison from Buchanan.
Six returning champions are competing in Division 4, with two of the grapplers being from St. Ignace - Galloway Thurston and Joe Ostman. The others are Kenneth Dittenber from Carson City-Crystal, Cole Weaver from Hudson, Jacob Perrin from New Lothrop, and Jared Bruner from Addison.
Good luck to all of you at The Palace. You make Michigan wrestling proud!