My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube
February 18, 2014
By: Scott Keyes

Finalists for the MHSAA Scholar Athlete awards announced



EAST LANSING, Mich. – Jan. 23 – The 120 finalists for the Michigan High School Athletic Association's Scholar-Athlete Awards for the 2013-14 school year have been announced.

The program, celebrating its 25th anniversary, has recognized student-athletes since the 1989-90 school year. Again this winter, it will honor 32 individuals from MHSAA member schools who participate in at least one sport in which the Association sponsors a postseason tournament.

Farm Bureau Insurance underwrites the Scholar-Athlete Awards and will present a $1,000 scholarship to each recipient. Since the beginning of the program, 608 scholarships have been awarded.

Scholarships will be presented proportionately by school classification, with 12 scholarships to be awarded to Class A student-athletes, six female and six male; eight scholarships to Class B student-athletes, four female and four male; six scholarships to Class C student-athletes, three female and three male; and four scholarships to Class D student-athletes, two female and two male. In addition, the final two scholarships will be awarded to two at-large minority recipients.

Every MHSAA member high school could submit as many applications as there are scholarships available in its classification and could have more than one finalist. Crestwood, Hastings, and Marlette each have five finalists this year. Fourteen schools each had two finalists: Bay City Central,  Marian, Dearborn, Grand Haven, West Catholic, Manistee Catholic Central, Marquette, Thornapple Kellogg, Midland Dow, Swan Valley, Sturgis, Traverse City Central, Walled Lake Western, and Yale.

Multiple-sport participation remains the norm among applicants. The average sport participation rate of the finalists is 2.70, while the average of the application pool was 2.16. There are 75 three-plus sport participants in the finalist field, and all but two of the 28 sports in which the MHSAA sponsors postseason tournaments are represented.

Of 407 schools which submitted applicants, 55 submitted the maximum allowed. This year, 1,701 applications were received. All applicants will be presented with certificates commemorating their achievement. Additional Scholar-Athlete information, including a complete list of scholarship nominees, can be found on the MHSAA Website at the following address:

2013-14 Scholar-Athlete Award Finalists


Stone Manczak, Bay City Central

Zachary Segall, Berkley

Andrew Barton, Birmingham Seaholm

Rami Kadouh, Dearborn

Samuel A Mousigian, Dearborn

Jared Hagan, Crestwood

Jalal Taleb, Crestwood

Brad King, Garden City

Ryan S. Fischer, Grandville

Kenneth Elkin, Grosse Pointe North

Chris Kruger, Holt

David Doyle, Linden

Craig Ekstrum, Marquette

David Walter III, Thornapple Kellogg

Nate Fisher, Midland

Vikram Shanker, Midland Dow

Tanner Vincent, Novi

Trevor Denoyer, Petoskey

Kellen Scott Michael, South Lyon

Kyle Dotterrer, Traverse City Central

Cody James McKay, Utica Ford

Devin Kimberlin, Walled Lake Northern

Mitchell Dennis, Walled Lake Western

David J Walczyk, Walled Lake Western


Anna Haritos, Avondale

Saige Tomczak, Bay City Central

Jessica Hacker, Bay City Western

Tatyanna Dadabbo, Marian

Clare Nienstedt, Marian

Tala Taleb, Crestwood

Caroline Ann Hagan, East Lansing

Elizabeth Cowger, Fenton

Paige Blakeslee, Gibraltar Carlson

Mallory Beswick, Grand Haven

Claire Elise Borchers, Grand Haven

Joslyn Mae TenBrink, Jenison

Jessica Graves, Lowell

Gabrielle Gencheff, Marquette

Fiona B Shea, Thornapple Kellogg

Kallisse R Dent, Midland Dow

Rachel Barrett, Milford

Grace Kao, Okemos

Kirsten Avery Chambers, Riverview

Meghan Datema, Rockford

Elianna Shwayder, Saline

Molly Peregrine, Traverse City Central

Sarah O'Connor, Waterford Kettering

Jenna Ciennik, Waterford Mott


Tye Wittenbach, Belding

Carl Steinhauser, Berrien Springs

Ryan Spaulding, Freeland

Joseph Corey, West Catholic

Nicholas Linck, West Catholic

John Gatti, Grosse Ile

Matt Johnson, Hastings

Richard Cassell, Lumen Christi Catholic

Ben Woodruff, Northwest

Ismail Aijazuddin, Lamphere

Zachary A Ohs, St. Mary Catholic Central

Michael T. vonKronenberger, Ogemaw Heights

Anthony William Canonie, South Haven

Trenton Karle, Three Rivers

Daniel Kosiba, Vicksburg

Noah Nicholl, Yale


Greer Elizabeth Clausen, Cranbrook-Kingswood

Abigail Brown, Caro

Lindsey Brewis, Divine Child Catholic

Bailey Baker, Eaton Rapids

Callie Jensen, Gladstone

Grace Bosma, Hastings

Kylee Nemetz, Hastings

Amanda M Metz, Otsego

Alexandra J Grys, Portland

Kiersten Mead, Swan Valley

Courtney T Reinhold, Swan Valley

Roxane L Strobel, Spring Lake

Peyton Boughton, Sturgis

Alea Penner, Sturgis

Angela Maurer, Williamston

Alana Koepf, Yale


Ty Michael Rollin, Beal City

Matthew S Johnson, Fennville

Carter Ballinger, Jonesville

Luke Joseph Smigielski, Mancelona

Dakota Hall, Marlette

Bradley Schaub, Marlette

Kyle Baxter, Mayville

Stephen T. Erwin, Shrine Catholic

Jason Beckman, Shelby

James Barber, St. Charles

Devin Morrow, River Valley

Nicholas DeSimpelare, Unionville-Sebewaing


Korinna Corbin, Addison

Kirsten Olling, Breckenridge

Elizabeth Baker, Bronson

Melissa Dowell, Clinton

Amanda Reagle, Homer

Mandy Haferkorn, Iron Mountain

Megan Chapman, Westwood

Keara Wilson, Marlette

Grace Leighton, Mendon

Allie Kendall, Nouvel Catholic Central

Kari Feddema, Schoolcraft

Erin McDonnell, Traverse City St. Francis


Grant Hohlbein, Lenawee Christian

Bret Hiveley, Au Gres-Sims

Tyler Anthony Johnson, Bear Lake

Jeremy Bigalke, Manistee Catholic Central

Ben Feliczak, Manistee Catholic Central

Steven McKenzie, Marcellus

Alec Firack, Pickford

Harding Fears III, Southfield Christian


MacKenzie Ciganick, Bellaire

Julie Ahnen, Bessemer

Sara Inbody, Deckerville

Vanessa Freberg, Superior Central

Kari Borowiak, St. Mary Cathedral

Lyvia Deaver, Jackson Christian

Erin Gast, Lake Linden-Hubbell

Jennifer Malcolm, Plymouth Christian