My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube
February 06, 2019
By: Butch Harmon

DeWitt wrestlers take first, Holt second at CAAC Blue championships

CAAC Blue wrestling championships



By GREG CHRAPEK                                                                                                        

The DeWitt wrestling team geared up for the state tournament with a big effort at the Capital Area Activities Conference Blue Division post-season tournament.

Ranked fourth in the state in Division 2, DeWitt won the team title with a total of 257.5 points. Holt, ranked tenth in the state in Division 1, placed second with 238.5 followed by Grand Ledge (183.5), Okemos (94), Waverly (67), East Lansing (18.5) and Everett (14.5).

A total of eight DeWitt wrestlers were crowned champions at the tournament. Cael Weinzweig (103 pounds), Kiefer Kolito (112), Nick Ebright (119), Ronald Slater (135), Quenten Hall (160), Jacob Brandt (171), Chandler Murton (189) and Douglas Trutzl (215) all took first place medals for DeWitt. Placing second for the Panthers were Matt Foddrill (125), Tyler Brandt (145) and Zachary Hasse (285) with Luke York (140) and Andrew Ainslie (152) placing third.

Holt was led by four conference champions. Dylan Phelps (125), Christian Lenon (140), Ryan Granger (145) and Nathan Bremer (152) all claimed individual titles for the Rams. Placing second for Holt were Zach Platte (103), Jose Santiago (112), Alex Russell (119), Ralph Thompson (135), Colby Deberry (160), Ian Smith (171) and Isaiah Scruggs (189). Finishing third for Holt were Jason Jones (130) and Peyton Bruce (215) while Joshua Terrill (285) placed fourth.  

Grand Ledge was paced by Tommy Lear who won the conference title at 130 pounds and Brady Riggs who won the heavyweight title. Alex Kingsley (140) and Jared Arnouts (215) placed second.  Finishing third for Grand Ledge were Dakota Patrino (103), Finn Buckland (135), Devin Pfau (145) and Garrett Kroczaleski (160). Placing fourth for the Comets were Caiden Gonzalez (112), Elijah Mercer (119), Josh Yaney (125), Jake Pfau (152) and Mason Sluss (189).

Okemos was paced by John Michael (130) and Wyatt Wartinzer (152) who both placed second. Finishing third for Okemos were Shingirai Muparuri (112), Husnain Khan (125), Sean Crowley (171) and Chris Hutsell (285).

Waverly was led by David Meza (119) and Demitrius Webb (189) who both placed third. Finishing fourth for Waverly were Dezmond Taylor (103), James Wagner (130), Jacob Hatfield (135) and Trevor Whitford (171).

East Lansing was paced by Fareed Kareem (145) and Jayth Joseph (215) who both placed fourth.

Everett was led by Chaka Glenn (140) who placed fourth.